Student Groups

Pursue your passion through an extracurricular or co-curricular opportunity

[video:https://youtu.be/fWSUGi_4Hhw]

The many clubs, teams, and professional societies available at Duke Engineering offer undergraduates a variety of opportunities to pursue their passions, bond with classmates, test ideas, obtain hands-on experience, network, and have fun!

Don’t see a group that matches your interests? Consider starting your own.

Click to view

Student Leadership

Engineering Student Government (ESG)

Forms a cohesive voice for engineering students, and takes part in community building and fundraising.


Pratt Peer Advisors (The E-Team)

A network of experienced engineering students that supports and assists first-year engineering students. E-Team members answer questions, share experiences, and offer advice.

Professional Society Chapters

American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics (AIAA)

Sponsors hands-on opportunities and projects for students with interest in aeronautics and astronautics.


American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

Participates in hands-on projects, including an annual concrete canoe competition. 


American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

Participates in design competitions, conferences, and industry networking.


Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES)

Offers a range of activities from biomedical engineering course panels and tours, to dinners and social events.


Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE)

Promotes student innovation through electronic projects that bring solutions to the Duke community.



National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)

Its mission is to increase the number of culturally responsible Black Engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally, and positively impact the community.


Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE)

Its mission is to change lives by empowering the Hispanic community to realize its fullest potential and to impact the world through STEM awareness, access, support and development.

  • National organization: shpe.org

  • President: Javier Franco, javier.franco@duke.edu

  • Advisor: Dr. Sophia Santillan, sophia.santillan@duke.edu


Society of Women Engineers (SWE)

Its mission is to empower women to achieve full potential in careers as engineers and leaders, expand the image of the engineering and technology professions as a positive force in improving the quality of life, and demonstrate the value of diversity and inclusion.

Clubs and Teams

Combat Robotics

  • President: Ethan Cheung, ethan.cheung@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Dr. Rebecca Simmons, rebecca.simmons@duke.edu

Design for America (DFA)


Duke Conservation Tech

  • President: Maya Sheth, maya.sheth@duke.edu
  • Advisors:
    • Dr. Martin Brooke, martin.brooke@duke.edu
    • Dr. Doug Nowacek, doug.nowacek@duke.edu

Duke Electric Vehicles (DEV)

  • Website: duke-ev.org
  • Presidents:
    • Will Smith, was28@duke.edu
    • Yukai Qian, yukai.qian@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Dr. Nico Hotz, nh66@duke.edu

DukEngineer Magazine


Duke Engineers for International Development (DEID)

  • Website: sites.duke.edu/deid
  • Presidents:
    • Kate White, kate.white@duke.edu
    • Rachael Lau, rachael.lau@duke.edu

Duke Motorsports


Duke Robotics

  • Presidents:
    • Samuel Rabinowitz, samuel.rabinowitz@duke.edu
    • Maverick Chung, maverick.chung@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Dr. Michael Zavlanos, michael.zavlanos@duke.edu

Duke Undergraduate Machine Learning

  • Websites:
    • dukeml.org
    • https://www.facebook.com/DukeUndergradML
  • Co-Presidents:
    • Sofia Nieto, sofia.nieto@duke.edu
    • David Rein, david.rein@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Dr. Rebecca Steorts, rebecca.steorts@duke.edu

eNable


Engineering World Health (EWH)


Females Excelling More in Math, Engineering & Science (FEMMES)

  • Website: sites.duke.edu/femmes
  • Presidents:
    • Belanie Nagiel, belanie.nagiel@duke.edu
    • Julia Long, julia.long@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Dr. Heileen Hsu-Kim, hsukim@duke.edu

Girls Engineering Change


HackDuke

  • Website: hackduke.org
  • Presidents:
    • Samuel Chan, samuel.chan@duke.edu
    • Vicki Lu, vicki.lu@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Mr. Howie Rhee, hwr2@duke.edu

InnoWorks


Runway of Dreams at Duke


Smart Home

  • President: Alex Weck, alexander.weck@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Jennifer Ganley, jennifer.ganley@duke.edu

XPRIZE-Academy for Model Aeronautics (AMA)

Honor Societies

Tau Beta Pi

The National Engineering Honor Society

Membership is based on exemplary character and academic standing in the upper eighth of the Junior class, the upper fifth of the Senior class.

Chi Epsilon

Civil Engineering

Dedicated to maintaining and promoting the status of civil engineering as an ideal profession. Chi Epsilon fosters the development and exercise of sound traits of character and technical ability among civil engineers, and its members, by precept and example, toward an ever higher standard of professional service.


Eta Kappa Nu—Delta Lambda Chapter

Electrical Engineering

Membership by invitation only. Eligibility is based on unimpeachable character and on outstanding scholarship which places the student in the upper quarter of the Junior class, or the upper third of the Senior class.


Pi Tau Sigma

Mechanical Engineering

 The national mechanical engineering honor society. Its core values are:

  • Integrity—Soundness of character and moral conduct
  • Service—Serving the mechanical engineering profession and the community
  • Leadership—Being foremost and fostering initiative through example in a professional manner

Duke contact: Dr. Linda Franzoni

Updated: December 5, 2019