Student Groups

Pursue your passion through an extracurricular opportunity.

The many clubs, teams, and professional societies available at Duke Engineering offer undergraduates a wide variety of opportunities to pursue their engineering passions, bond with classmates, test ideas, obtain hands-on experience, network, and have fun!

Don’t see a group that matches your interests? Consider starting your own.

Engineering Student Government (ESG)

Provides support to engineering students, takes part in community building, fundraising for the school, and forms a cohesive voice for engineering students.

Pratt Peer Advisors (E-Team)

A network of upperclass engineering students that support and assist first-year engineering students. E-Team members answer questions, share experiences, and offer advice.

Professional Society Chapters

American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics (AIAA)

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES)

Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE)

Material Advantage (MA)

  • National organization: materialadvantage.org
  • Chair: Cassandra Williams, cw269@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Dr. Adrienne Stiff-Roberts, adrienne.stiffroberts@duke.edu

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)

Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE)

Society of Women Engineers (SWE)

Student Organizations

Design for America (DFA)

Duke Conservation Tech

  • President: Maya Sheth, maya.sheth@duke.edu
  • Advisors:
    • Dr. Martin Brooke, martin.brooke@duke.edu
    • Dr. Doug Nowacek, doug.nowacek@duke.edu

Duke Electric Vehicles (DEV)

  • Website: duke-ev.org
  • Presidents:
    • Gerry Chen, gerry.chen@duke.edu
    • Shomik Verma, shomik.verma@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Dr. Nico Hotz, nh66@duke.edu

DukEngineer Magazine

Student-written, since the 1940s.

Duke Engineers for International Development (DEID)

  • Website: sites.duke.edu/deid
  • Presidents:
    • Elizabeth Griffin, erg28@duke.edu
    • Cassandra Williams, cw269@duke.edu

Duke Motorsports

Duke Robotics

  • Presidents:
    • Neil Dhar, neil.dhar@duke.edu
    • Samuel Rabinowitz, samuel.rabinowitz@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Dr. Michael Zavlanos, michael.zavlanos@duke.edu

eNable

Engineering World Health (EWH)

Females Excelling More in Math, Engineering & Science (FEMMES)

  • Website: sites.duke.edu/femmes
  • Presidents:
    • Carolyn Im, carolyn.im@duke.edu
    • Carrie Mittl, caroline.mittl@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Dr. Heileen Hsu-Kim, hsukim@duke.edu

Girls Engineering Change

HackDuke

  • Website: hackduke.org
  • Presidents:
    • Sherry Feng, sherry.feng@duke.edu
    • Christine Hwang, jeong.hwang@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Mr. Howie Rhee, hwr2@duke.edu

Smart Home

  • Presidents:
    • Emilia Chajkiewicz, emilia.chojkiewicz@duke.edu
    • Shomik Verma, shomik.verma@duke.edu
  • Advisor: Mr. Jim Gaston, jim.gaston@duke.edu

XPRIZE/Academy for Model Aeronautics (AMA)

Engineering Honor Societies

Tau Beta Pi

All Engineering Disciplines

The national engineering honorary society. Eligibility is based on exemplary character and an academic standing in the upper eighth of the Junior class, the upper fifth of the Senior class.

Advisor: Dr. Michael Gustafson, mrg@duke.edu

Chi Epsilon

Civil Engineering

Dedicated to maintaining and promoting the status of civil engineering as an ideal profession. Chi Epsilon fosters the development and exercise of sound traits of character and technical ability among civil engineers, and its members, by precept and example, toward an ever higher standard of professional service.

Contact: Dr. Joe Nadeau, nadeau@duke.edu

Eta Kappa Nu

Electrical Engineering

National Organization: www.hkn.org

The national electrical engineering honorary society. Membership by invitation only. Eligibility is based on unimpeachable character and on outstanding scholarship which places the student in the upper quarter of the Junior class or the upper third of the Senior class

Contact: Rhett George, rhett.george@duke.edu

Pi Tau Sigma

Mechanical Engineering

National Organization: www.pitausigma.net

The national mechanical engineering honor society. Its core values are: Integrity (soundness of character and moral conduct), Service (serving the mechanical engineering profession and the community), and Leadership (being foremost and fostering initiative through example in a professional manner).

Contact: Ed Shaughnessy, eshaughn@duke.edu

Updated: Aug. 22, 2018