MEMS Seminar: Scalable Manufactured Micro/Nan-Structured Surfaces for Heat Transfer Applications

May 24

This event has passed.

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm


Professor Ronggui Yang

Thermal transport plays an important role in energy conversion efficiency and device reliability. There were significant progresses over the past 2 decades on utilizing micro/nanostructures for enhancing or reducing heat transfer owing much to the challenging needs in high efficiency energy conversion and thermal management of electronics. One of the great examples is to use nanostructures for enhancing the efficiency of thermoelectric materials by reducing the thermal conductivity. Yet, cost-effectiveness plays a key role in engineering micro/nanostructures for heat transfer applications. In this talk, I will highlight two examples that we currently work on by utilizing scalable manufactured micro/nanostructured surfaces for enhancing heat transfer processes: phase-change heat transfer and radiative heat transfer. These surfaces are expected to play an important role in future thermal and energy system



Dr. Ronggui Yang is the S.P. Chip and Lori Johnson Faculty Fellow and a Professor of Mechanical Engineering directing the Nano-enabled Energy Conversion, Storage, and Thermal Management Systems group (NEXT) at the University of Colorado Boulder (CU-Boulder). Dr. Yang received his Ph.D degree focusing on Nanoscale Heat Transfer with Professor Gang Chen in Mechanical Engineering from MIT in February 2006. Since January 2006, he started his faculty career as an Assistant Professor and is now a Full Professor at CU-Boulder. His innovative research has won him numerous awards including the 2014 ITS Young Investigator in Thermoelectrics from International Thermoelectric Society (ITS), the 2010 ASME Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer, an NSF CAREER Award in 2009, the MIT Technology Review’s TR35 Award and the DARPA Young Faculty Award in 2008. He has also won the Provost’s Achievement Award (2012), the Dean’s Performance Award (2010), the Woodward Outstanding Faculty of Mechanical Engineering (2011) and the Outstanding Research Award in Mechanical Engineering (2008) from the University of Colorado Boulder. Dr. Yang is also well recognized for his professional services. Dr. Yang is currently the Chair (2015-2017) of the K-9 Technical Committee on Nanoscale Thermal Transport of ASME Heat Transfer Division. He is also an Associate Editor for ASME Journal of Heat Transfer and and Associate Editor for Heat Transfer Research.  

Lunch will be served from 11:30 am – 12:00 noon.