The History, Current Status, and Challenge of Lead Halide Perovskite Solar Cells

Feb 24

This event has passed.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016 - 1:30pm to 3:00pm


Prof. Yanfa Yan, Department of Physics and Astronomy, The University of Toledo, OH

Organic-inorganic methylammonium lead halide perovskites, CH3NH3PbX3 (X= Cl, Br, I), have revolutionized the field of thin-film solar cells. Within five years, the efficiency of lead halide perovskite-based thin-film solar cells have increased rapidly from 3.8% in 2009 to 20.1%. Such rapid progress has never been seen before in the history of solar cell development. In this talk, I will review the history and current status of lead halide perovskite thin films solar cells. I will explain why lead halide perovskites exhibit superior photovoltaic properties that conventional solar cell materials such as Si, Cu(In,Ga)Se2, and CdTe do not. I will further discuss the intrinsic problems and challenges that lead halide perovskite solar cells are facing. Finally, I will give an outlook for perovskite solar cells.


Yanfa Yan, Department of Physics & Astronomy, and Wright Center for Photovoltaics Innovation and Commercialization, The University of Toledo, Toledo, OH 43606, USA

Dr. Yanfa Yan has held the Ohio Research Scholar Chair in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at The University of Toledo, USA since 2011 and is a faculty member in the Ohio’s Wright Center for Photovoltaics Innovation and Commercialization (PVIC). Previously, he was a Principal Scientist at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), USA. At NREL, Dr. Yan participated in a number of research efforts that led to a world-record conversion efficiency of 20% for CIGS and 16.7% for CdTe cells. His expertise includes (1) Theory of defect physics and electronic properties in semiconductors; (2) Materials synthesis and thin film solar cell fabrication; and Nanoscale characterization of thin film solar cell materials. Dr. Yan received Ph D from Wuhan University in 1993. He has received DOE/EERE Young Investigator and R&D 100 awards. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society.