Awards and Honors


Undergraduate Awards

The Pi Tau Sigma Scholarship Award in memory of T. C. Heyward, Sr. is presented annually by Pi Tau Sigma to an outstanding senior in mechanical engineering at Duke University. Selectin is based on academic excellence, engineering ability, and leadership, and is made by a committee of the engineering faculty.

The Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science Faculty Award is presented annually in recognition of academic excellence to the graduating mechanical engineering senior who has attained the highest level of scholastic achievement in all subjects.

The Raymond C. Gaugler Award in Materials Science and Engineering is awarded to the senior who has made the most progress at Duke in developing competence in materials science or materials engineering. The basis for selection is the student's scholarship record, research or design projects completed at Duke, and interest in a materials-related career. The award has been established by Patricia S. Pearsall in memory of her grandfather, Mr. Raymond C. Gaugler, who was President of the American Cyanamid Company prior to his death in 1952.