Awards & Recognition


National Academy of Engineering Membership

  • Elected in 2016 – Jennifer West

National Research and Professional Leadership Awards

  • 2016 Nevada Medal, Desert Research Institute – Missy Cummings
  • Bessel Research Award, Humboldt Foundation – Stefano Curtarolo
  • Chevalier dans l'Ordre National du Mérite;  Directeur des relations entreprises, National Institute of Applied Sciences (France) – Sylvie Lorente

Professional Society Recognition

  • 2016 Reed Aeronautics Award, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics – Earl Dowell
  • Finalist, 2015 Gordon Bell Prize – Amanda Randles
  • Editor, ASME Journal of Turbomachinery – Kenneth Hall
  • Special Session in his honor, International Congress of CERMODEL – Tomasz Hueckel
  • American Physical Society Outstanding Referee of the Physical Review and Physical Review Letters Journals 2016 – Volker Blum
  • Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics – Missy Cummings
  • Advisor, Acta Mechanica Sinica journal – Earl Dowell
  • Best paper award, IEEE Robotics and Automation Society International Conference on Humanoid Robots – Kris Hauser
  • Best Paper, IEEE International Conference on Computational Science – Amanda Randles
  • Frocht Award, Society for Experimental Mechanics – Lawrence Virgin
  • Vice chair & chair-elect, Gordon Research Conference on Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering – Jennifer West
  • Executive Council member, International Association for Computational Mechanics, John Dolbow

Early Career Awards

  • Named to the World Economic Forum Young Scientist List 2015 – Amanda Randles

University and School Honors

  • Faculty Director, B.N. Duke Scholarship Program (Duke University) – Mike Gustafson
  • 2016 Dean's Award for Inclusive Excellence in Graduate Education (The Graduate School, Duke University) – MRSEC - Stefan Zauscher, director
  • Capers and Marion McDonald Teaching and Research Award (Pratt School) – Jennifer West
  • Honorary doctorate in engineering, University of Pretoria (South Africa) – Adrian Bejan
  • 2015 Distinguished Alumnus Award, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi – Ashutosh Chilkoti
  • Research Impact in Human-Computer Interaction Award, Center for Human-Computer Interaction, Virginia Tech – Regis Kopper
  • Honorary doctorate (DSc), Nottingham University (UK) – David Needham

Distinguished Lectureships and Speakerships

  • Keynote lecture,  Academy of Europe annual conference – Adrian Bejan
  • Invited lecture, New York City Junto Society – Adrian Bejan
  • Invited lecture, Alianta Awards Gala – Adrian Bejan
  • Keynote speech, Predictive Multiscale Materials Modeling conference (Cambridge University) – Stefano Curtarolo

Media Recognition

  • "20 Engineering Management Professors You Should Know," Online Engineering Programs – Hadley Cox, Jeff Glass, and Brad Fox
  • Editor's Choice, Journal of Applied Physics – Adrian Bejan


Research and Professional Leadership Awards

  • Clemson Award for Basic Research, Society of Biomaterials – Jennifer West
  • Highly Cited Researcher, Thomson-Reuters – Jennifer West

Early Career Awards

  • Young Investigator Award, Creative and Novel Ideas for HIV Research – Benjamin Yellen

Professional Society Recognition

  • Fellow, National Academy of Inventors – Ashutosh Chilkoti
  • Fellow, IACM – John Dolbow
  • Elected Secretary, USACM – John Dolbow
  • Member, Advisory Board of DOE ASCAC – John Bolbow
  • Member Spotlight, AIAA Carolinas – Earl Dowell
  • Chair, AIMBE College of Fellows – Jennifer West
  • 75th Anniversary Gold Medal, ASME Heat Transfer Division – Adrian Bejan
  • Boeing/ASME Best Paper Award, AIAA SciTech Conference – Earl Dowell

University and School Honors

  • Thomas Langford Lectureship Award (Duke University) – Missy Cummings
  • Stansell Family Distinguished Teaching Award (Pratt School) – Jeffrey Glass

Distinguished Lectureships and Speakerships

  • Memorial Lecturer, Northwestern University – Jennifer West

Technology and Research Leadership

  • Member, Editorial Board of Computational Mechanics – John Dolbow


Early Career

  • New Investigator Award by the NC Space Grant – Nico Hotz
  • ONR 2014 Young Investigator Award – Michael Zavlanos
  • NSF Early CAREER Development Award, ONR 2014 Young Investigator Award, and Invited Lecturer, Gordon Research Conference on the Science of Abrasion – Xuanhe Zhao

Society Member/Fellow Recognition

  • Member, Academia Europaea, 75th Anniversary Gold Medal of the ASME Heat Transfer Division, Honorary Doctorate from INSA de Lyon – Adrian Bejan

University and School

  • Stansell Distinguished Research Award (Pratt School) – Stefano Curtarolo
  • Duke Order of Omega President’s Award and Duke Interfraternity Council Faculty Recognition Award – Michael Gustafson
  • Klein Family Distinguished Teaching Award  (Pratt School) – Rebecca Simmons
  • 2013 Chandran Lecture in Neuro-Oncology (Pratt School) – Jennifer West


  • Awarded the 2015 Nevada Medal (awarded by the state of Nevada for a preeminent scientist/engineer) – Missy Cummings
  • Graduate of ELATE Leadership Program – Linda Franzoni
  • Doak Award: International award for the most-cited paper in the past three years for the Journal of Sound Vibration – Brian Mann
  • Selected as one of the Top 20 Science & Technology Professors in North Carolina – Neal Simmons


Faculty Early Career Awards

  • Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement  Award, Oak Ridge Associated Universities: Nico Hotz
  • NSF Early CAREER Award; Early Career Researcher’s Award, AVES Biomaterial Interfaces Division: Xuanhe Zhao  

Research and Professional Leadership Awards

  • Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award, Biomedical Engineering Society: Ashutosh Chilkoti
  • IGTI J.P. Davis Award, ASME: Robert Kielb and Lawrie Virgin

Professional Society Recognition

  • Associate Fellow, World Academy of Arts & Sciences; Honorary Member, American Society of Mechanical Engineers: Adrian Bejan  
  • Fellow, Controlled Release Society College of Fellows: Ashutosh Chilkoti    
  • Full Member, Acoustical Society of America: Linda Franzoni
  • Fellow, ASME: Robert Kielb    
  • Fellow, American Society for Mechanical Engineers: Brian Mann
  • Fellow, Biomedical Engineering Society: Ashutosh Chilkoti
  • Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers: Pei Zhong


Faculty Early Career Awards

  • Haythornthwaite Research Initiation Grant, American Society of Mechanical Engineering, Applied Mechanics Division: Xuanhe Zhao

Research Awards

  • 2011 Clemson Award for Contributions to the Literature: Ashutosh Chilkoti
  • New Product Award at the MCEE 2011: Laurens Howle

Professional Society Recognition

  • Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers: Laurens Howle
  • Honorary Fellow, Romanian Academy: Adrian Bejan
  • Fellow of the Institution of Engineers & Shipbuilders in Scotland: Adrian Bejan
  • U.S. Delegate, International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics: Linda Franzoni