Contact

Departmental Office

Ken Gall
Professor and Chair
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5310
ken.gall@duke.edu

Donald Bliss 
Director of Undergraduate Studies 
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5315
donald.bliss@duke.edu

Brian Mann
Director of Graduate Studies 
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5310
brian.mann@duke.edu

Piotr Marszalek
Director of Master Studies 
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5381
pemar@duke.edu

Zhanat Alma Elliston
Business Manager
zhanat.elliston@duke.edu
919-660-5308

Departmental Support

Katherine Siler
Staff Assistant
katherine.siler@duke.edu
919-660-5312

Deborah Fraze
HR, Specialist
deborah.fraze@duke.edu
919-660-5309

Glenda Hester
Administrative Assistant
glenda.hester@duke.edu
919-660-5359

Michele Thompson
Purchasing Agent, Staff Assistant
mthomp@duke.edu
919-660-5321

Pamela King
IGERT WISeNet Program Coordinator
pamela.king@duke.edu
919-660-6335

Joanne Grosshans
GUIde Consortium Program Coordinator
joanne.grosshans@duke.edu
919-660-5116

Grants and Research Administration

Alice Huang
Senior Grants and Contracts Administrator
alice.huang@duke.edu
919-681-2919

Crystal Hinnant
Advanced Grants and Contracts Administrator
crystal.hinnant@duke.edu
919-613-5810

Student Support

Julia Orlidge
Program Coordinator; DGSA & DUGSA Assistant
julia.orlidge@duke.edu
919-660-5311

Facilities and Lab Support

Patrick McGuire
Sr. Lab Administrator
patrick.mcguire@duke.edu
919-660-5261

Eric Stach
Research and Development Engineer I
eric.stach@duke.edu
919-660-5161

John Goodfellow
Senior Instrument Maker
john.goodfellow@duke.edu
919-660-5318